Let Me Introduce Myself

Learning is Mysterious

As a teacher, sometimes it seems that learning can be mysterious and hard to track- if it happens, when it happens, and how it happens.  The title of this blog is “When Teaching Teaches You” because I never anticipated that I would also be learning lessons alongside my students.  In retrospect, I am not quite sure when it happened or how it happened for my own learning.  It has been a process- a long process of trial and error, learning curves, introspection, humility, tears, and joy.

About Me and the Purpose of This Blog

I am Ashley Adams, a Spanish teacher at Morgan County High School in Madison, GA.  I am currently in my ninth year of my first “big girl” job.  If my ninth-year-teacher-self could waterripplesandgreeneryhave told my first-year-newbie-self to write down all nuggets of knowledge that she would learn along the way, she would have called, texted, and emailed the message!  The purpose of this blog is to call to memory and put to letter the many light bulb moments that I have experienced.  I hope it will inspire new teachers
to jump in with their whole heart and veteran teachers to rekindle the flame that once burned so brightly.

“A teacher affects eternity; he can never tell where his influence stops.” -Henry Adams

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑